Jennings Mill Country Club
In 1801, David Meriwether moved to the land that would become Jennings Mill Country Club. Soon thereafter, he opened a grist mill to serve the growing Athens community. When Meriwether died in 1827, the mill was sold to the Jennings family who operated the mill for two generations. In 1939, as steam and electric power overtook the water wheel, the mill was closed. The dam that was part of the original mill still holds back the water at the golf course putting green. The pump house near the driving range was once a service building to the mill.
In 1981, a group of Athens businessmen recognized the need for a new country club real estate community serving Clarke and Oconee Counties. The partnership hired famed Bob Cupp to design a top-notch golf course while retaining the natural beauty of the land.
The club boasts a magnificent 18-hole golf course with practice facility, 11 lighted tennis courts including 3 clay, an Olympic-sized swimming pool, dining rooms, and a staff of fine employees.